Sunday, 30 September 2012

Back to Bataan - Jerome Charyn



Title: Back to Bataan
Author: Jerome Charyn
Rating: 4 out of 5
New York City, 1943. War is raging in Europe and the Pacific, while Jack Dalton is stuck attending Dutch Masters Day School. What Jack really wants is to enlist in the army, to fight... 
Everything changes when Coco, Jack's "fiancee," throws him over for one of his classmates. Jack sees red and does something drastic. Then he runs away. Hiding out in a nearby park, Jack joins ranks with a group of vagrants and is soon under the sway of a man called the Leader, an ex-convict who is as articulate and charismatic as he is dangerous. The Leader turns Jack's world upside down. To put things right, Jack must prove himself a braver soldier than he ever imagined.


This book is so awesome it makes me wonder why it is not a lot more famous. The writing is flawless and I fell in love with Jack's character. He is amazingly more mature and interesting at 11 than most YA protagonists.

The story is about 11 year old Jack Dalton, he is the resident scholarship kid at Dutch Masters Day school, so naturally he gets the stick from his wealthy classmates and when his girlfriend breaks up with him for a the rich boy Alfredo Jack does something stupid to hurt Alfredo's family.Thinking he committed a big crime he runs away and joins a gang of a sort led by The Leader.

For a book this short, the characters are amazingly developed and intricate. This book surprised me. I did not expect to enjoy a book this much when it centers so much on historical facts.

This book is not about the usual teen angst and drama but delves into the basic human nature, bravery, love and betrayal in World war two America. 

The one thing I found strange about this book was that while the protagonist was 11 I felt like I was looking through the eyes of a much older person, this is not a necessarily a bad thing since it showed how fast children were forced to grow up around war.

The verdict

To be honest, this book is not the light hearted book of teen drama but a series look into the life on eleven year old in World War two.

Overall

I give this book 4 out 5 stars.

Thursday, 27 September 2012

Phoenix [Phoenix Elite #1] - Melissa Starr


Title: Phoenix 
Author: Melissa Starr
Rating: 3.5
Elora Rae Gannon believes her life is over. On her sixteenth birthday she receives news that she is a mythical monster of hellish proportions and if that's not bad enough, she receives this information in the form of a letter from her dead mother who also informs her that she must become part of an elite secret society of others like herself or die. Sucky birthday, huh? And just when she thinks she's got it all figured out, her new-found family in the Elite forces her to break ties with her human BFF shortly before her BFF just up and vanishes. With her world in utter upheaval, Elora makes the move to a new school- Marlind Prep, with full intentions of finding out exactly what is going on behind the scenes and why her best friend has vanished- all while trying to figure out how to successfully make out with her boyfriend without sucking the very life out of him!
Review


Despite my love for greek mythology, it is written about so much it becomes rather tedious but Starr infused modernity with Egyptian mythology which I found refreshing and enjoyable. This book is a lot like The House of Night series without the seriously annoying-ness of zoe.

On her 16th birthday Elora finds out that like her deceased mother she is a Phoenix. The phoenixes are rich, hot and get the best damn lives ever except they have to suck life out of someone every in order to extend their lives one more year [ lovely, I know.]

Elora is actually a really cool protagonist, she is independent and extremely loyal even if i hate the fact that she is that loyal to her best friend Chloe. To top things of their is a hot romance between her and a fellow phoenix, Ezra.

The one thing I did not like about this book is Chloe because she is the most annoying character ever. Despite being warned to stay away from the Phoenix business, she does not and goes missing. Sigh. 

The verdict

To be honest this book couldn't not be more awesome, it makes you wonder why it is not more known

Overall

I give this book 3.5 out 5 and present a special interview with author



Tuesday, 25 September 2012

Tempest [Tempest #1] - Julie Cross



Title: Tempest
Author: Julie Cross
Rating: 3.5 out 5  Stars
Paperback: 334 pages
Publisher: St. Martin's Griffin [January 17th 2012]
Language: English
ISBN: 0312568894
ISBN13: 9780312568894 
Purchase: Amazon | Barns & Nobel 

The year is 2009.  Nineteen-year-old Jackson Meyer is a normal guy… he’s in college, has a girlfriend… and he can travel back through time. But it’s not like the movies – nothing changes in the present after his jumps, there’s no space-time continuum issues or broken flux capacitors – it’s just harmless fun. 
That is… until the day strangers burst in on Jackson and his girlfriend, Holly, and during a struggle with Jackson, Holly is fatally shot. In his panic, Jackson jumps back two years to 2007, but this is not like his previous time jumps. Now he’s stuck in 2007 and can’t get back to the future. 
Desperate to somehow return to 2009 to save Holly but unable to return to his rightful year, Jackson settles into 2007 and learns what he can about his abilities. 
But it’s not long before the people who shot Holly in 2009 come looking for Jackson in the past, and these “Enemies of Time” will stop at nothing to recruit this powerful young time-traveler.  Recruit… or kill him. 
Piecing together the clues about his father, the Enemies of Time, and himself, Jackson must decide how far he’s willing to go to save Holly… and possibly the entire world.



I seriously avoided this book like it was the plague, mainly because there was so much hype around its release I felt obligated to avoid it at all cost especially since I usually make it a habit to hate on every book loved by the many in the blogosphere but when I found it online for half price I could not find a good reason to avoid it. I am actually glad that I picked up this book because it was a new take on time travel which I absolutely love. I actually had no trouble keeping up with the whole timey whimy stuff and even enjoyed the attempted science behind it.

Let’s talk about Jackson, for the most part he was a pretty decent character but there were moments that made his character seem unreal. I have hung out with guys all my life and I can say I have a pretty good idea of how their thought patterns work unfortunately I can’t say the same for Ms Cross. For one Jackson’s love for Holly comes out totally unconvincing, to be honest this book could have done without the romance element, I mean I really didn’t care if Holly lived or died.

This book was really easy to read and interesting enough that I didn’t feel the need to wonder around half way through but the laws of time travel seem rather weird because you can never be sure of what he can or can’t do. One thing I liked about this book is even in its slow moments you can never predict what was going to happen next, it just keeps you glued to the pages. 

Many people in the blogosphere complained that they found the whole time travel thing rather confusing but I actually really admire Cross’ idea of half jumps and full jumps. This idea of time travel prevents the whole paradox issue which I think is a rather smart.
One thing I really disliked about this book was the over the top portrayal of everything. I mean I get it loads of secrets, his whole life has been a lie, CIA is involved, conspiracy theories, human cloning and time traveling enemies called EOT which stands for Enemies of Time [someone ordered extra cheese with their fries?] come one Cross that’s a little too much don’t you think especially if the said teenager is forced between the two side.

The verdict

This book had me absorbed and despite the over the top story line I really like it.

Overall

I give this book 3.5 out 5 starts, Cross wrote a book which had me hooked from the beginning to end.

Saturday, 22 September 2012

Never After [The Ever After Chronicles #1] - Jason Robert Macumber

Title: Never After
Author: Jason Robert Macumber
Rating: 4 out 5 stars

The world of fairy tales is twisted and corrupted. Two years after her entrapment and torture at the hands of the Seven Deadly Trolls, Snow White now works as an assassin for hire. Rude, crude and with her princess status long revoked, she has become a dark angel for the Ever After's damsels-in-distress. A game of cat and mouse soon begins when two of the Deadlies, Pride and Wrath, return to exact revenge on the fallen princess for the murder of their brothers. Armed with her trusty dagger carved from the magic mirror, Snow finds herself drawn into a conspiracy that involves an ancient relic from beyond her world's borders and the destruction of her world. Taking perversion to a whole new level, NEVER AFTER is an estrogen-filled romp to save the Ever After as Snow slices and dices her way through beloved characters leaving no talking animal safe
Review:
Continuing my fairy tale fortnight is Jason Robert Macumber's Never After although I hesitate to call it a fairy tale since it is dark and gritty with no happily ever after. Seriously guys I mean it this story is crude and if you expect sweet Snow White you will be disappointed. On the other hand if you are like me and love the darker humor this book is for you.

In a way I suppose it is very much like the original tale. Snow White is held hostage by the seven trolls and tortured. After she escapes she becomes an assassin. Trust me this story is not for kids, Snow white becomes one kick ass heroin although she is not much of a hero. She becomes obsessed with revenge and kills a lot which is a surprising but welcome difference from the whiny little girl in the Disney cartoons.


The verdict

Despite the crude nature of the book I really enjoyed it.

Overall

I give this book 4 out 5 starts. 

Friday, 21 September 2012

Cinder [Lunar Chronicles #1] - Marissa Meyer


Title: Cinder 
Author: Marissa Meyer
Rating: 4 out 5  Stars
Paperback: 387 pages
Publisher: Feiwel & Friends [January 3rd 2012]
Language: English
ISBN 0312641893 
ISBN13: 9780312641894 
Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl. . . .  
Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future


Since I have been accused of being a Hipster I fully expected to hate this book but was surprisingly enjoyable. I really enjoyed Meyer's reinterpretation. Not only did she recreate Cinderella, but she improved her and made her one kick ass cyborg instead of the poor little girl who sang to the birds about dreams.

Unsurprisingly this book had more teen angst than cyborg action which really didn't disappoint me too much since I quite enjoyed the fact that Cinder did not throw herself on Kai but held back and kicked ass before she sealed the deal.

One thing that didn't work for me about this book was the mystery element, seriously I had the entire story figured out 2 seconds after the Lunars were introduced. Seriously it's obvious that Cinder is BEEP and BEEP. Since I deem this book worth reading I will not spoil the mystery but be warned to expect the obvious since there is absolutely no subtext to this book what so ever.

The other thing I really admired about this book was the portrayal of the stepmother, instead of the cold hearted B she is seen as in the original Cinderella, Meyer actually added depth to Ari. She was not just cruel woman but a whole rounded person, sure she is still kind of evil but there are moments in the book where you actually feel sorry for her and I really like that.

The verdict

This book surprised me and was better than I would have assumed since most proclaimed YA books have not been my cup of tea.

Overall

I give this book 4 out of 5 and an impatient glance at the count down clock for Scarlet.  

Cover Characteristic #1 - Dresses

This is a new meme hosted by Sugar & Snark. Each week we
 will post a characteristic and choose 5 of our favorite
cover’s with that characteristic. 

I absolutely love pretty covers so this meme comes as a godsend. This week the topic is dresses, I am going to pick 5 dressed that I loved. 




5. Dragonswood - Janet Lee Carey
4. Darker Still -  Leanne Renee Hieber 
3. Everneath - Brodi Ashton
2. With All My soul - Rachel Vincent 


1. Supernaturally - Kiersten White

I absolutely adore this cover and I can't wait till I read this book,
hopefully it will not disappoint.









Comment: Olympic and Paralympic Games

The Games are over, The Generation? Inspired? But what else could we learn from the Olympics?


What could Plato, Jessica Ennis, Einstein, Michael Phelps, Shakespeare, Katherine Copeland have in common?

Coming Soon! Two shiny new articles and a review!


Thursday, 20 September 2012

In My Mailbox #2



This meme is hosted by The Story Siren.

I have been waiting for this for a whole week but finally got it today and the best damn think is I saved a hell lot of money.





The Hunger games trilogy - Suzanne Collins
Cinder: The Lunar Chronicles - Marissa Meyer
Tempest - Julie Cross
Heaven - Christoph Marzi
Buffy the vampire slayer [1&2] - Various
Wings - Aprilynn Pike
Spells - Aprilynne Pike

Wednesday, 19 September 2012

Hush, Hush [Hush, Hush Saga #1] - Becca Fitzpatrick



Title: Hush, Hush
Author: Becca Fitzpartick
Rating: 3.5 out of 5 
Paperback: 400 pages
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Childrens Books (27 May 2010)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1847386962 | ISBN-13: 978-1847386960
A SACRED OATH
A FALLEN ANGEL
A FORBIDDEN LOVE 
Romance was not part of Nora Grey's plan. She's never been particularly attracted to the boys at her school, no matter how hard her best friend, Vee, pushes them at her. Not until Patch comes along. With his easy smile and eyes that seem to see inside her, Patch draws Nora to him against her better judgment. 
But after a series of terrifying encounters, Nora's not sure whom to trust. Patch seems to be everywhere she is and seems to know more about her than her closest friends. She can't decide whether she should fall into his arms or run and hide. And when she tries to seek some answers, she finds herself near a truth that is way more unsettling than anything Patch makes her feel. 
For she is right in the middle of an ancient battle between the immortal and those that have fallen - and, when it comes to choosing sides, the wrong choice will cost Nora her life


All my life I have been proud of the fact that I was not the kind of girl who fell for bad boys but then I realised to my shame that I had been channeling that girl quirk through my books. Hush, Hush is yet another book in a string of YA novels with bad boy v good girl which I can't help but be attracted too. Hush, hush is a strange book, it has good points and bad points with equal measure. 

First lets talk about Nora, she is one whiny assed little girl who calls the police five times a week and can't seem to decide whether she wants to like Patch or be terrified of him. She is suppose to be smart but manages to get caught cornered and helpless so many times it got annoying. Heck there is only one moment in the entire book that she acted like she had a spine. 

In YA novels there is a theme that is surprisingly common and that is 'Stalking is Hot'. I don't know if it existed before Twilight but since I have found it in surprisingly numerous books with stalker boy friends which are considered hot. Come on Patch, you make my heart do the funny dance but for the love of God stalking is NOT hot and so I feel that I should recycle this meme since it\s very appropriate.





I actually really like the general plot of the book, it was well written and kept me gripped for two hours. I really like the reform of the whole fallen angel concept especially the Nephilims which must be my favourite hybrids ever.

something that mystifies me not just about this book but most other YA books is where the hell are there parents? Granted I was one of those nerds who didn't travel outside the comfort of my bed and a good book but how the hell do this kids travel to other cities and fight the forces of darkness without mummy dearest knowing about it especially since mums have eyes in the back of their heads.

The verdict

Despite the obvious flaws in this book I really enjoyed it. It was actually a fun filled ride into the world of teenage angst and fallen angels – not a ride I expected to enjoy.

Overall

I give Hush, Hush 3.5 out 5 and a mental not to read Crescendo as soon as possible before it flies out of my brain.


Tuesday, 18 September 2012

The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer [ Mara Dyer Trilogy #1] - Michelle Hodrin


Title: The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer
Author: Michelle Hodrin
Rating: 4 out 5
ISBN: 1442421762 
ISBN13: 9781442421769
Hardcover, 452 pages

Synopsis

Mara Dyer doesn’t think life can get any stranger than waking up in a hospital with no memory of how she got there.  It can.    
She believes there must be more to the accident she can’t remember that killed her friends and left her mysteriously unharmed.   There is.   
She doesn't believe that after everything she’s been through, she can fall in love.  She’s wrong.


Review

This book was a bit strange for me, I could not decide if I loved it or if I hated it. There was so many clichéd and stereotypical moments that you could say this book was a compilation of books that have been written before but I could not bring myself to hate it. There was some sort of charm to the book; I loved the mystery in the book even if the powers weren’t exactly refreshingly new.

Generally I liked Mara but there were moments I wanted to slap her back to reality, the whole paralysed with fear every time they appear get old real fast. Come one Mara grow a backbone kick ass once in a while. As for Noah, damn he is one seriously hot guy but yet again not very original, what don’t tell me you have never seen the new good girl with a secret and the bad boy shack up.

The one thing I loved the most about this book is Jamie. I swear if that boy was real he would so be my soul mate.  Heck I even laughed my ass of at the whole Ebola joke, yes nerd humour is awesome.

The best thing about this book is the mystery, it is amazing. Nothing is really given away but you are drip fed information but each page you flip over and there is yet another drop, meanwhile you want the whole picture so you keep reading because well heck you are enjoying yourself. In a way it’s kind of like Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire, even when you know it’s not exactly the most original or rational story you still can’t help but like it anyway.

The verdict

I am much divided with this story, am not sure if I should like it but I do anyway.

Overall

After much consideration I am going to give this book 4 out of 5 because despite knowing its flaws I still gobbled the whole thing in one night.

Sunday, 16 September 2012

Mana - Asher Tensei


Review copy provided - Part of Enchanted book tour 

Title: Mana
Author: Asher Tensei
Rating: 3.5 out 5

Synopsis:
Eurich is thrown into a seemingly ill-fated destiny. After learning of his legendary magic, he is convinced that he alone must stop an impending doom, but nothing is ever as it seems. His best friends Jason and Raine try their best to help him save the world, but help isn’t what he needs —he needs a way across the barrier.
Despite this fate thrust upon him, Eurich knows what is coming. The world is headed toward Chaos due to a weakening barrier between Earth and a world that has been hidden for millennia. 
Our world is about to take a sharp turn for the worse. Extra moons are rising in the sky, and panic is at an all-time high. Worst of all, there are no explanations.
Saving the world begins with a choice —but is humanity worth him risking his own life?

Review: 

My friend once told me that he could never write a book because no matter how well he described it no one will ever see the things he saw when he wrote it and with some author’s I agree that’s the case. The story will be just a dialogue with no spatial awareness what so ever but with Mana I would have to disagree. This book is written beautiful with vivid description that paints not just locations but amazing characters.

I find in most fantasy because the magic or whatever power might be present tends to dominate over everything including human characters and emotions, this book doesn’t.  Tensei creates very realistic characters that you want to care about rather than whiny little girls with boy problems. 

I absolutely enjoyed this book and I would recommend to any fantasy lover to go and buy this book.

Overall

I give this book 3.5 out of 5 for a fantastic journey into a fantasy filled world.

Purchase:  Amazon | Barns & Noble
Author's Website: http://ashertensei.com/

Thanks to Enchanted book tours I have interviewed the man behind the book.  Ladies and gentlemen I would like to welcome Asher Tensei, the man behind the book.


Interview


Have you always wanted to be a writer or is that more of a late development?

I’d have to say that this was more of a late development. It didn’t hit me that I wanted to write until I got older and saw it as possible income. The creativity has always been there… guess I just needed a little push.

How long does it take you to write a book?

My first draft of Mana took me a month to write, but a book is never truly done until it’s rewritten like five times. But all in all, from start to complete finish, Mana took two years to complete.

Writing a book is undoubtedly a very long process, how do you keep yourself motivated to keep writing?

Give yourself a deadline! It works for me. What also works for me is I never plan a chapter ahead, so I’m always surprised by what I come up with. Sure I have the way the story will end, but everything in between and betwixt is completely up to Raine, Eurich, and Jason.

What is your work schedule like when you're writing?

I let the writing flow. Sometimes I can get about two chapters done in a day and some days where I can only write like 3 or 400 words. I do like to plan writing days, but that rarely ever happens because of my schedule :/. However,I do plan on getting a lot of time back soon so I can work on book two full-time!

What do you like to do when you're not writing?

Everything! When I’m not writing I’m doing martial arts, taking acting classes, playing a game, or rapping. I pretty much do anything that requires artistic expression.

What does your family think of your writing?

My family is brutally honest, so if I sucked, I’m sure they would have told me. They tell me how good it is all the time. They keep my hopes up by telling me the talent I have and by giving unconditional support. They have big hopes for my book, so it’s really exciting that they share my vision, too!

As a male author, how does it feel to enter the Young Adult market which we all know is pretty much dominated by female authors?

It feels great because I know my story is just as good, if not better than some of the really popular YA novels. Being a male in this market simply means I’ll have to try a bit harder, and I’m okay with that. Maybe if I’m lucky, I’ll start a wave of new male YA authors

What are your current projects?

I’m currently working on Golden Darkness, the sequel to Mana, and it is so awesome!! The story really took a new direction. I uncovered some major back story and I introduced some new things that add so much more magic to the story. Plus, it has a really unexpected twist. So hopefully I’ll finish it soon!

Saturday, 15 September 2012

Glitch [Glitch Trilogy #1] - Heather Anatasiu


Review copy supplied by McMillan


Title; Glitch
Author: Heather Anastasiu
Rating; 1.5 Starts
Synopsis:
In the Community, there is no more pain or war. Implanted computer chips have wiped humanity clean of destructive emotions, and thoughts are replaced by a feed from the Link network.
When Zoe starts to malfunction (or “glitch”), she suddenly begins having her own thoughts, feelings, and identity. Any anomalies must be immediately reported and repaired, but Zoe has a secret so dark it will mean certain deactivation if she is caught: her glitches have given her uncontrollable telekinetic powers. 
As Zoe struggles to control her abilities and stay hidden, she meets other glitchers including Max, who can disguise his appearance, and Adrien, who has visions of the future. Both boys introduce Zoe to feelings that are entirely new. Together, this growing band of glitchers must find a way to free themselves from the controlling hands of the Community before they’re caught and deactivated, or worse.
Review:


As last week's cover crush, I had high hopes for glitch and considering the amount of time I waited to get my hands on it, I was sorely disappointed. The general idea of the book seemed intriguing enough but about page 15 I realised that this book was not what I expected.

For one the protagonist Zoel is perhaps  the whiniest, most annoying characters that I have ever read about. All she does is complain - complain about glitching, complain about not glitching, complain about 'The Community' for not letting her snog her lovers - yes she has two - all over the place.

I mean seriously it's not even a decent dystopian novel but to make matters worse it has a love triangle, someone please save me from reading yet another book with a love triangle. The only thing i remotely liked about this book apart from the undeserved book cover is the little twist in the middle, can't tell you what it is because then it will destroy the only good thing in this book.

To be honest am not sure I should even be reviewing this book since I fail to find more than a spec of goodness in it. Zoel is irrational going from glitching i page 1 to falling in love in less than 50 pages even though she had no idea what that meant before hand. The whole book was entirely juvenile and that coming from me is rather disappointing.

Perhaps the worst thing about this book  - and it drove  me crazy every single time - is the expressions. Trust me read about 50 pages and you will understand what I mean. For your benefit let me list the two I hate the most.

1. Crackin' 
2. shuntin' 

Used in sentence  - 'No shuntin' way' and 'Crackin' hell'.

My response - NO.

 As a  Londoner, heck as a British person we always manage to say bloody hell or something equally pointless to add to our sentence but i'll be damned if that extends to the above two. I hated them from the moment they were said until they stopped. Heck I wanted the person who kept saying them to drown in a tunnel filled with water but unfortunately that did not happen.

The verdict

Honestly, their is no question about my response to this book - it was written for 13 year old who care nothing about the depth of the story and only want some make out sessions and love triangles.

Overall

This book was not my thing, and honestly I rather not look upon its deceptively pretty cover ever again. I give this book an over all of 1.5 starts, as always the .5 is for the hooking cover.


Thursday, 13 September 2012

Cover Crush Thursday #2


Join these meme by posting it on your blog. You don't have to ask permission just write Meme hosted by Sky Rose Reviews, heck you can even use the picture above if you don't mind the terrible lack in artistic talent.

Issue #2


This stunning debut captures the grotesque madness of a mystical under-land, as well as a girl’s pangs of first love and independence. Alyssa Gardner hears the whispers of bugs and flowers—precisely the affliction that landed her mother in a mental hospital years before. This family curse stretches back to her ancestor Alice Liddell, the real-life inspiration for Lewis Carroll’s Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland. Alyssa might be crazy, but she manages to keep it together. For now. 
When her mother’s mental health takes a turn for the worse and the whispers grow too strong to bear, Alyssa learns that what she thought was fiction is based in terrifying reality. The real Wonderland is a place far darker and more twisted than Lewis Carroll ever let on. There, Alyssa must pass a series of tests, including draining an ocean of Alice’s tears, waking the slumbering tea party, and subduing a vicious bandersnatch, to fix Alice’s mistakes and save her family. She must also decide whom to trust: Jeb, her gorgeous best friend and secret crush, or the sexy but suspicious Morpheus, her guide through Wonderland, who may have dark motives of his own. 
Unless she fixes the things her great-great-great grandmother Alice put wrong, Wonderland will have her head.

I am so crushing after this, yet again my love for pretty covers is getting to me because I wan't this super bad and to be honest the synopsis is pretty hooking too, hopefully it will not be as disappointing as Glitch. 

Monday, 10 September 2012

The Mosswoods - Astrid Yrigollen


*PART OF YOUNG ADULT NOVEL READER BOOK TOUR 
Title: The Mosswoods
Author: Astrid Yrigollen
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Synopsis


Poppy Mosswood like most 17 year olds wants to lead a normal life. But the Mosswood family is anything but normal. Keepers protect the land from humans who would exploit it. For in the forest dwell wondrous creatures and dangerous beings. Beings that would love nothing more but to overthrow all of mankind.

Ruthless billionaire Preston Buckthorn moves to town planning to marry Poppy to his son Brad. Brad wastes no time trying to win her heart but his love is warped by the taint that runs in his blood.
As Poppy is taken in by Brad's charms the appearance of a handsome stranger from the forest awakens her heart even though it is forbidden by both their worlds. From his long dark green hair to his piercing eyes, Ashtel is beautiful and powerful. He feels the danger that has emerged to threaten both of their worlds.Torn between pledging herself as a Keeper, Brad and Ashtel, Poppy is unaware of the true identity of Preston Buckthorn and that his sinister plan includes much more than just owning Mosswood forest

.

Review
The thing about this book that grabbed me from the beginning was the setting. Yrigollen does a very good job of describing the setting, Everything is so vivid and detailed I loved it.She also does an amazing job of creating the creatures, I especially love the Watty.

Poppy is a very good protagonist in a sense that I could see myself in her, she reached a point in her life where she has to choose between what her family things is her destiny and what she want to do. 

The one thing am not a fan of is the love triangle, but thats more of a personal preference than anything in the book. Since the release of The Vampire Diaries it seems every book has a love triangle and I am for the lack of a better word at my wits end. 

The other thing that disappointed me about this book is the cover, granted the cover doesn't make the book but it doesn't exactly appeal to me in any way, in fact half an hour on google and paint and am sure I can make a better cover than that.

I totally loved the settup of this book, the first half was a bit slow but it laid the way for the excitment of the second hald and that ending... wow. Seriously if I had the next book I would have devoured it right then and there.

The verdict

The Mosswoods is an exciting fantasy with an intretesting and non sterotypical setting. While the first half was slow the second was absorbing and I can not wait to dig into the next book

Overall

I give this book 3.5 out of five for an interesting journey to a fantasy world.



Product details
Format: Kindle Edition
File Size: 268 KB
Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
Language: English
Author's Website:http://www.astridyrigollen.com/
ASIN: B005CF7N44
Purchase: Amazon Kindle

Sunday, 9 September 2012

Comment: Tweet tweet


My Limitations: Less than or equal to 140 characters per sentence.

Your Challenge: Comment using less than or equal to 140 characters in a comment.



Know your limits.
Make sure your posts are short and tweet!



I'm curious about what you think this article will be about. It's not as obvious as you might think! Post what you think in the comments below and I'll reply if you're close!

Full article coming soon!

-Young-

Change.

Facebook and Twitter has changed!


If you have liked us on facebook, you will have noticed a few wonderful changes that occurred. One of them is our new profile picture and (hopefully) logo!

Our new profile photo!

This has been created to show the direction that SkyRose reviews is headed. Beth will be writing review and ranting about whatever comes to mind. Young will be heading the new comment section and contributing a few book reviews at the same time. Any posts which aren't reviews will have 'Comment' or 'Rant' before their title to save confusion.

We hope you like the changes that have so far been implemented, but we can say with a lot of confidence, it's not over yet!




Thursday, 6 September 2012

Cover Crush Thursdays #1


Since I got both  Defiance and Glitch in my mailbox today I thought i'd start a meme for all the books I am seriously loving. 

Join these meme by posting it on your blog. You don't have to ask permission just write Meme hosted by Sky Rose Reviews, heck you can even use the picture above if you don't mind the terrible lack in artistic talent.

Issue #1

Defiance - C. J Redwine


Within the walls of Baalboden, beneath the shadow of the city's brutal leader, Rachel Adams has a secret. While other girls sew dresses and obey their male Protectors, Rachel knows how to survive in the wilderness and deftly wield a sword. When her father, Jared, fails to return from a courier mission and is declared dead, the Commander assigns Rachel a new Protector, her father's apprentice, Logan--the same boy Rachel declared her love for two years ago, and the same one who handed her heart right back to her. Left with nothing but a fierce belief in her father's survival, Rachel decides to escape and find him herself. But treason against the Commander carries a heavy price, and what awaits her in the Wasteland could destroy her.
At nineteen, Logan McEntire is many things. Orphan. Outcast. Inventor. As apprentice to the city's top courier, Logan is focused on learning his trade so he can escape the tyranny of Baalboden. But his plan never included being responsible for his mentor's impulsive daughter. Logan is determined to protect her, but when his escape plan goes wrong and Rachel pays the price, he realizes he has more at stake than disappointing Jared.
As Rachel and Logan battle their way through the Wasteland, stalked by a monster that can't be killed and an army of assassins out for blood, they discover romance, heartbreak, and a truth that will incite a war decades in the making.




Holy cow what can I say about this cover, I've been drooling over it ever since I saw it God knows how many months ago, I wanted it and now i have it or a copy of it on my laptop I can't help but want a real hard copy. Must make that happen hopefully it's not one of those pretty covers empty words kind of books that would be one hell of a disappointment.


Glitch - Heather Anastasiu
 In the Community, there is no more pain or war. Implanted computer chips have wiped humanity clean of destructive emotions, and thoughts are replaced by a feed from the Link network. 
When Zoe starts to malfunction (or “glitch”), she suddenly begins having her own thoughts, feelings, and identity. Any anomalies must be immediately reported and repaired, but Zoe has a secret so dark it will mean certain deactivation if she is caught: her glitches have given her uncontrollable telekinetic powers. 
As Zoe struggles to control her abilities and stay hidden, she meets other glitchers including Max, who can disguise his appearance, and Adrien, who has visions of the future. Both boys introduce Zoe to feelings that are entirely new. Together, this growing band of glitchers must find a way to free themselves from the controlling hands of the Community before they’re caught and deactivated, or worse. 
In this action-packed debut, Glitch begins an exciting new young adult trilogy.
 Oh man did I have to jump through hoops to get this. Pan Mcmillan which usually give me the books don't have the rights to print copies in UK. I had to contact three different publicity teams each one taking more than a week to contact back. Now that I have it man I hope this book is worth it.

In My Mailbox #1



This meme is hosted by The Story Siren


Today I got the best damn thing through my mailbox, literal and virtual mailboxes.



In my literal mailbox I just got 10 Kathy Reichs books. if you don't know who she is, where have you been, she is the author of the books that were turned into the TV series Bones.

I am so totally psyched about those especiall since I got them for SUPER cheap. £! a book, damn that's some bonus for my bank account, I was prepared to buy each one in their normal prince :D

On my virtual mailbox I got Glitch and Defiance which  I have been dying for for months now. Thank you McMillan for such an awesome book but books like these i think am going to have to get physical copies cause they will be like the pretty jewels in my book collection.

Wednesday, 5 September 2012

Anna Dressed in Blood [Anna#1] - Kendare Blake


Title: Anna Dressed in Blood
Author: Kendare Blake
Rating: 4.5 out of 5



"I know now that I was supposed to come here.That the moment I heard her story—that connection I felt, thatinterest—it had a purpose."

Synopsis: From Goodreads
Just your average boy-meets-girl, girl-kills-people story...
Cas Lowood has inherited an unusual vocation: He kills the dead. 
So did his father before him, until his gruesome murder by a ghost he sought to kill. Now, armed with his father’s mysterious and deadly athame, Cas travels the country with his kitchen-witch mother and their spirit-sniffing cat. Together they follow legends and local lore, trying to keep up with the murderous dead—keeping pesky things like the future and friends at bay.
When they arrive in a new town in search of a ghost the locals call Anna Dressed in Blood, Cas doesn’t expect anything outside of the ordinary: move, hunt, kill. What he finds instead is a girl entangled in curses and rage, a ghost like he’s never faced before. She still wears the dress she wore on the day of her brutal murder in 1958: once white, but now stained red and dripping blood. Since her death, Anna has killed any and every person who has dared to step into the deserted Victorian she used to call home.
And she, for whatever reason, spares his life.

Review:


This book is… what kind I say about this book. Usually I avoid horror books because the entire story is based on how scary it can be and leaves all the little details like a good story line out. Add that to the fact that books just don’t scare me and you have a not so scary book with a less than half a decent story line, totally not something I want to read.

This book however is different, while it still didn't scare me there we times I felt my face cringing at the level of gore and blood. Trust me if you are one of those people who loves girly instead of gore I suggest you stay away from the book, but if you love a bit of blood, guts and ghosts then this book is for you.

At the heart of it, this book is a love story but don’t go expecting pottery making classes because this ghost is not some faded little man but one hell of a she devil.  I absolutely love Anna because for once it’s the man who is being constantly rescued and thrown about the room. When Anna battles Cas you know which one of them is going to win.

 I am seriously blown away by this book, if I had to describe it is more The Exorcist meets Supernatural, the same scary ass girl but with only one brother and the same avenge my dad thing. If Cas in half as hot as Sam or Dean am all for it becoming a movie.

The verdict.

I really love this book. It has the goriness of some scary ass ghosts and still managed to create a seriously sweet and frankly hopeless love story.

Overall

I give this book 4.5 out 5 stars for one scar-ish sweet love story between a hunter and his prey or is it the huntress and the prey, that get so confusing sometimes.

Product details
Hardcover: 320 pages
Publisher: Tor Books (17 Oct 2011)
Language: English
Author's Website: http://kendareblake.com/
ISBN-10: 0765328658
ISBN-13: 978-0765328656
Purchase: Amazon | Barns & Noble