Thursday, 22 November 2012

Dark Protector [Paladins of Darkness #1] - Alexis Morgan


WARNING ADULT CONTENTS
Title: Dark Protector 
Author: Alexis Morgan
Rating: 4 out of 5
Devlin Bane: Born a Paladin, he is a member of an ancient band of warriors locked in a centuries-old war against evil. 
His destiny: To die over and over again to protect mankind from the Others, only to be revived each time by his mortal Handler.
But his fierce strength and courage cannot save him from gradually becoming one of the monsters he was born to destroy. 
Dr. Laurel Young, who has spent years training to become a Handler, must remain detached from her patients. But each time she revives the darkly compelling Devlin Bane, he claims a little more of her soul and incites in her desires that grow wilder and wilder -- even as he inches closer to losing his humanity. As the war against the Others grows more desperate, Laurel and Devlin can't help but give in to the fierce hunger that's sizzled between them for so long. Now they'll face the ultimate battle together -- to save a dark, passionate love that goes against every rule as they join forces to fight an enemy who is closer than they ever imagined....


Lately I've been lucky with the books I chose, it seems my shallow love for pretty covers have finally manage to retreat  if only just a little bit. This book is not a classic but an old favourite, every now and then when I don't wish to over crowd my already buzzing head, this would be one of the books I pull out.

I really love this book, it's not the usual boy meets girl, boy or girl are in human and they fall in love kind of book. Well mostly anyway. Yes, boy meets girl and boy is not human but unlike most paranormal genre books girl is a successful doctor who nurses the said boy back to health every time he dies. Yes, you read it right. Boy, although I think I should stop using that metaphor, is in fact a Paladin. An ancient band of warriors that protect the barrier between this world and another. Now what they are guarding us from is strictly confidential, even to the warriors that die very often trying to stop some sort of inter-dimensional immigration. 

The reason I love this book is that both the protagonist stand up for themselves, this relationship is not one sided male protects female and you will love me for it kind but the kind that has a semblance of balance. Dr. Young clearly doesn't take orders from anyone which especially endears her to me. What can I say I love rebels. I suppose this does conform to usual 'the man is the warrior' stereotype but I actually quite fond of that quirk, after all we all want some handsome, hunky fella to come sweep us off our feet right. What  I like about this book is that the whole male testosterone thing is perfectly balanced by the fact that Laurel Young is clearly and in obvious places, smarter than her man.The one thing I love more than muscles is definitely brains.

The one thing I found strange about this book is that there were no clear enemies, yea the stalker is the immediate danger but having no clue as to what and who they were fighting as much of a negative as it was a positive. With no clear indication as to who you are suppose to hate you start to hate, you start to dislike pretty much everyone who was not a Paladin or Laurel. 

The Verdict

Alright to sum up this book, well this book was actually very very good. It had unique ideas and gives life to the usual and a little tiresome paranormal romance story line.

I am going to give this book 4 out of 5 stars.

Wednesday, 21 November 2012

Designer Brand Bargin


Hey guys,

I don't usually post advertisement but I think this is worth it. For those of you that live in London and if you are looking for a bargain whether to treat yourself to designer brand merchandise or like me have to many family members to buy Christmas presents for them come to Oxfam Dalston on the 2nd of December for their one-off Sunday opening where they will be selling amazing products for prices you seriously wont believe. Trust me I have seen what they to offer, you would be mad to miss it and to top it all off it's for a good choice.





Wednesday, 14 November 2012

Raven's Gate [The Gatekeepers #1] - Anthony Horowitz


Title: Raven's Gate
Author: Anthony Horowitz
Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars
As punishment for a crime he didn't really commit, Matt was given a choice: go to jail or go live with an old woman named Mrs. Deverill in a remote town called Lesser Malling.
 He should have chosen jail.
A strange and sinister plan is coming together made in Lesser Malling, with Matt at the center of it all. People who try to help him disappear . . . or die. It all ties to an evil place named Raven's Gate - a place whose destiny is horrifyingly intertwined with Matt's own.


I didn't read this book, I devoured it. Never mind the fact that I have read it before in the distance past, even when the memories of the book seeped back into my brain I didn't care because it was so damn good.

This book is simply magnificent, it is strange, mysterious and at time freaking terrifying.Someone should really consider turning it in to a movie, its simply that good.

I love Matt as a character, he is not whiny or incompetent rather he comes out strong and a little rebellious.  The only problem I have with his character is that he acted too old for his age. I mean what 14 year old boy can chop fire wood all day right. Maybe if he was 16 it would be perfectly believable.

I really sympathized with Matt and at times I found myself egging him on to be more rebellious  more hands on with the woman who is basically holding him captive.Once again I can not stress how creepy this book really is, half the time you have no idea what the hell is really going on and who is on his side. It's a bizarre mix of fear, fury and adrenaline.


The verdict.

I loved this book. I read it in one sitting only getting up for the essential Sprite.

Overall.

I give this book 4.5 out of 5 stars.


Tuesday, 13 November 2012

In My Mailbox #4


This meme is hosted by The Story Siren.

I have been waiting for this for a whole week but finally got it today and the best damn think is I saved a hell lot of money.


This week I decided to go back to my childhood and re-read Horowitz and even add in a little Lore just for flavor.

So here are the books in my mailbox today

Raven's Gate -  Anthony Horowitz
Evil Starm -  Anthony Horowitz
Night Rise -  Anthony Horowitz
Necropolis -  Anthony Horowitz
I am Number Four - Pittacus Lore

Monday, 12 November 2012

The Hobbit - J.R.R. Tolkien


Title: The Hobbit  
Author: J.R.R. Tolkien
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

In a hole in the ground there lived a hobbit. Not a nasty, dirty, wet hole, filled with the ends of worms and an oozy smell, nor yet a dry, bare, sandy hole with nothing in it to sit down on or to eat: it was a hobbit-hole, and that means comfort.



Continuing with the classics theme I have the brilliant J. R. R. Tolkien with The Hobbit.

This book is amazingly complicated to review for one it is not written to a standard you can call ‘literary masterpiece’ after all its amazingly uncomplicated with fourteen people going through a rather fantastical journey through an alien world. It is obviously narrated by Tolkien as a third party observer retrospectively. By right it should not deserve it’s statues as a ‘modern classic’ but a modern classic it is. 

This book is simply amazing. I suppose it is a children’s book but like Harry Potter, it is something anyone can read and as much as it pains me to say it the premise of this book KO’s Harry Potter’s. The simple charm of this book enthralls the reader with a beautifully painted scenes and charmingly unoptimistic protagonist. I fell in love with Bilbo Baggins as the simple Hobbit who did as respectable hobbits did, had too much cake and blew smoke rings in his back yard whilst in his heart of hearts he wanted to have adventures like his Took ancestors. 

I can’t say I am overly fond of the dwarves but like everything in this book they capture your heart and will not let go until you have read and read through it. The thing about this is and am not sure whether this is a compliment or not and it’s that this book really feels as long as the journey. It’s like loads of little journey’s crammed together with moments of short but somewhat relaxing rests but then they set of again and it would be completely different from the last little adventure they had.

In a way knowing that Bilbo was going to survive took away from the excitement after all whatever happened he was going to come out on top but then again I don’t think it was Tolkien’s fault that I have in fact seen The Lords of the Rings way too many time although not quite as much as some of the people I know.

Okay transgressing a little to the subject of the movie. First I am too excited for one because I am now absolutely in love with it but also because it’s about time Peter Jackson got around to directing it. I really do hope that Jackson achieves the same success with this move as in the rest of the Lord of the Rings movies.

Alright now let’s move on to the verdict. I give this book 5 out of 5 stars since my words could not possible do  this book any justice but be warned this book is very genre specific if you do not like the Lord of the Rings movies, avoid this book at all costs.



Friday, 9 November 2012

Dracula - Bram Stoker


Title: Dracula
Author: Bram Stoker
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

When Jonathan Harker visits Transylvania to help Count Dracula purchase a London house, he makes horrifying discoveries about his client. Soon afterward, disturbing incidents unfold in England—an unmanned ship is wrecked at Whitby, strange puncture marks appear on a young woman's neck, and a lunatic asylum inmate raves about the imminent arrival of his "Master"—culminating in a battle of wits between the sinister Count and a determined group of adversaries.



October was a bad month for reviews but I am determined to make November the best month for reviews. So kicking off Noisy November is a paranormal classic, Bram Stoker’s Dracula.  This book is perhaps the template to the modern vampire. Granted Stoker paints his Count as a vile evil creature that crawls on walls and sleeps in coffins rather than a sickly grey man with over fetish for glitter but the origin is clear enough.

Superficial speaking Dracula is a mildly entertaining book with sluttish female vamps that eat children, a psycho that eats sparrows and even an old hunter and a scientist. Its narrative leaves nothing to the imagination with every detail painted for the reader but if you put on your critical glasses and look deeper you realise that Dracula is not just a classic horror book but a book full of sub textual information about the time it was written.

Before we go into this review I want to warn you I severely dislike this book and will be having a long rant.

Let’s talk about Mina since she is the character I dislike the most. First of all she is not real, she is basically a two dimensional cut out of a 19th century man’s ideal woman. Unlike her friend Lucy who is the embodiment of female independence she is acts like the House elf of the Stoker universe. While it is clear that she has the intelligence, she slaves over helping her husband organise his life while he is whoring himself to three female vampires miles away from home. 

Now let’s move on to Sewed. Now as the man of science he should appeal to me but I find Stoker’s portrayal or him rather unconvincing and almost as fake as Mina herself. Dracula was written at the end of the nineteen century when Charles Darwin proposes his theory of evolution which for those of you who have read the book is not even mentioned in the book. Why you may ask, well allow me to elaborate. As an Irish Catholic man Stoker was a firm religious man who believed that religion should be held with the up-most importance even when it did clash with science hence the birth of the Cross against vampires lore. 

Now I feel obligated to say something positive, despite the fact that as a modern reader I fail to see the merit of Dracula and the values presented by Stoker, it is a very fascinating study of social dynamics of the late Victorian era when key social changes were taking place. This book explores the threat of modern science, women's rights, religion and even the hidden sexual desires of Victorian men.

To be honest I can go on about all the faults but am going to try and sum up Stoker. Stoker hated everything different. From the women, to scientific theories to foreigners so basically he was like the Mitt Romney of the 19th century, well a literate version that is.
So now that I have made my quota of sardonic political humor for the day let me tell you the verdict. I give this book 2 out of 5 stars. 

P.S. On my way to post this review Google notified me that today is in fact Bram Stoker’s 165th Birthday.



Way to go Beth slag off the man on his birthday and what a weird ass coincidence. 

Monday, 5 November 2012

Hourglass [Hourglass Series #1] - Myra McEntire


Title: Hourglass 
Author:  Myra McEntire 
Rating: 3 out 5
Synopsis: From Goodreads

One hour to rewrite the past . . . For seventeen-year-old Emerson Cole, life is about seeing what isn't there: swooning Southern Belles; soldiers long forgotten; a haunting jazz trio that vanishes in an instant. Plagued by phantoms since her parents' death, she just wants the apparitions to stop so she can be normal. She's tried everything, but the visions keep coming back.So when her well-meaning brother brings in a consultant from a secretive organization called the Hourglass, Emerson's willing to try one last cure. But meeting Michael Weaver may not only change her future, it may also change her past.
Who is this dark, mysterious, sympathetic guy, barely older than Emerson herself, who seems to believe every crazy word she says? Why does an electric charge seem to run through the room whenever he's around? And why is he so insistent that he needs her help to prevent a death that never should have happened?
Review

When I first run across this book the cover had me hook line and sinker. It is not pretty per se but it was intriguing. I am a very big Doctor Who fan so finding a book about time travellers that even remotely comes close to the genius that the show made me up my expectation.

The story is about Emerson, a 17 year old girl who sees ghost or so you would thing but these are not ghosts in the traditional sense they are echoes of people from the past. The setup of this book was brilliant I loved the fact they this story was not another I see dead people. It was unique and I totally got into it straight away. 
I liked Emerson at least in the sense that she was kick ass quite literary with Michael which is always something to be encouraged. I love female protagonists who don’t bend back for their seriously hot boyfriend to be’s but that is pretty much where I stop liking her character. Emerson is in permanent state of self-pity. I realise her parent’s death affected her; I would understand more than most but for the love of God just get over it already. Harsh but true, everyone in her life is walking on eggshells around her and after a while you just want to slap her back to reality.

As for Michael, he is the usual superhot mysterious guys who is in love with her bus is resisting her for her own good or something. I do love a good tall, dark and handsome but it’s becoming a bit to stereotypical for my taste. What I need now is a very nice geeky man who would argue about Marvel Vs DC for hours on end [btw MARVEL all the way, I dare you to argue it with me].

The verdict 

I really loved the fact that this book was very scientific in a sense that it didn’t ignore paradoxes and other time travel related rules but I was not a very big fan of the protagonist.

Overall

I give this book an overall of 3 out of 5 for a book with very good idea which lacked in execution .


Product details
Paperback: 390 pages
Publisher: Egmontusa; Reprint edition (8 May 2012)
Language: English
Author's Website:
ISBN-10: 1606843842
ISBN-13: 978-1606843840
Purchase: Amazon/ Barns & Noble