Sunday, 15 December 2013

Reviving Izabel (In the Company of Killers #2) - J.A. Redmerski

Cover Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Rating: 4 out of 5

Synopsis:

Determined to live a dark life in the company of the assassin who freed her from bondage, Sarai sets out on her own to settle a score with an evil sadist. Unskilled and untrained in the art of killing, the events that unfold leave her hanging precariously on the edge of death when nothing goes as planned.

Sarai’s reckless choices send her on a path she knows she can never turn back from and so she presents Victor with an ultimatum: help her become more like him and give her a fighting chance, or she’ll do it alone no matter the consequences. Knowing that Sarai cannot become what she wants to be overnight, Victor begins to train her and inevitably their complicated relationship heats up.

As Arthur Hamburg’s right-hand man, Willem Stephens, closes in on his crusade to destroy Sarai, she is left with the crushing realization that she may have bitten off more than she can chew. But Sarai, taking on the new and improved role of Izabel Seyfried, still has a set of deadly skills of her own that will prove to be all she needs to secure her place beside Victor.

But there is one test that Izabel must face that has the potential to destroy everything she is working so hard to achieve. One final test that will not only make her question her decision to want this dangerous life, but will make her question everything she has come to trust about Victor Faust.


Review:

The first book was a lot more captivating for me; however this was still a fab sequel.

Sarai is given the chance to live a normal life but after the life she endured she can't cope in the 'normal' world. She can't be released back into the wild.

She has vengeance on her mind and will stop at nothing. She shows strength, going from a victim in book one to a survivor who is a kick arse chick in book two.

I do wish it took a little longer for Victor to be with her for some reason but it was all planned and written precisely.

I really enjoyed the look into Fredrik and his past, I would like to read more about him, more about him finding love potentially as he was a very strong character, and although mysterious and a little dark - I shamelessly loved him a little.

Read this series for something that takes the Stockholm concept and spins it on it's head - the victim becomes the monster. The scared become the feared.


Sunday, 8 December 2013

Beautiful Rose (Beautiful Rose #1) - Missy Johnson

Cover Rating: 5 out of 5
Rating: 5 out of 5


Synopsis:

**HAVEN'T READ SEDUCE? GO READ IT NOW! THIS SYNOPSIS WILL SPOIL IT FOR YOU ;)**

Jack Falcon is a new man. Three years after he left his life behind in London, Jack finally feels settled. He’s surrounded with everything that is important to him; a great relationship with his brother, Alex, a bar he is about to re-open, and most importantly, he has control of his life and his dreams. He knows he can’t undo the wrongs of his past, but he sure as hell can determine his future. He has worked hard to move forward and nothing is going to undo that.

Until he meets Rose.
Rose Wilson has never felt normal. Since she was a child, Rose has felt nothing but the overwhelming desire to end her life and she has no idea why. We live to die, so what’s the point in living? Rose has pushed the limits in the past, and pushed people away. She can’t figure out why Jack and Alex are so insistent on helping her. Twelve years of therapy has failed to help her, so why should they be any different?
Jack sees just how beautiful and important Rose is, but convincing her of that means putting his heart on the line, something he isn’t sure he can do. He can’t deny his feeling for Rose, but that doesn’t mean he has to act on them. And Jack isn’t the only one developing feelings for Rose.

Before Rose, Jack vowed he would never let himself fall in love again.

Before Rose, he had control.

But sometimes, it’s losing control that makes you really see what’s really important in your life.

Review:

Missy, thank you so much!

I have been in a book funk recently and Missy has just pulled me out. I thought that after the first book that I wouldn't be able to Imagine Jack with someone else, Belle was gone and it was shattering.

Then there was Rose. An absolutely stunning character, so strong but warm. I felt for her and wanted to protect her, I saw her as almost a part of Belle. 

Jack still loves Belle, she isn't swept under the rug, he cares for her deeply and always will. 

I adore how Missy gave us the Seduce book first, she let us know Jack and Belle and it was a risky move, absolutely brilliant though.

This was so touching and heartfelt, and also very original in the way the story was told and the outcome.

I fell for Alex through this book and I really want him to have a happy ending, can't wait for the next book.



Tuesday, 26 November 2013

Mine To Hold (Mine #3) - Cynthia Eden


Cover Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Rating: 3 out of 5

Synopsis:

She was one man’s obsession…

Nine years ago, Claire Kramer’s lover brutally killed her family, and he tried to kill her. She escaped, but she’s been haunted ever since that attack. Too afraid to trust another man and too worried that her past will catch up with her, Claire never gets too close to anyone. But then she meets Noah York.

He must have her.

Noah York is a man with secrets. The world sees him as a billionaire hotel tycoon, but Noah has a dark and dangerous side. For years, he worked covert military operations before he built his fortune. When it comes to death, Noah is a master. He knows that he should steer clear of Claire, but the white-hot attraction Noah feels for the delicate beauty is instant—and consuming.

He will never let her go.

Someone else is just as consumed by Claire—someone who will kill to possess her. And if Noah can’t stop the hunter in the darkness, he may just lose the one woman that he can’t live without.

Review:

I have read the other two books in this series and I really enjoyed them, this one started well and ended well but lost its believabilty in the middle.

Eden is exceptionally good at creating mysterious characters, you are often questioning the motives of each player in her game.

This time around we follow Claire and Noah - who I really enjoyed in the last book - but based on her past they fell for one another a little too fast for me.

Noah seemed to love her for no real reason, with Skye and Trace the history of the relationship made the almost insta love understandable but this time, less so.

I did enjoy this but it just didn't have the same fresh quality as the last two books.

If you like thrillers then give it a go; if you aren't an insta love fan, maybe try and see.


Sunday, 3 November 2013

COVER RELEASE: Equivocal (Abduct #2) - Mercy Cortez

COVER RELEASE.

After the number one best seller 'Messy and Shattered' the sequel in the Abduct Series is to be released early 2014, but for now you can see the cover for the anticipated Equivocal.

Synopsis:

Second book of The Abduct Series.

Sometimes in life you are put in a position that causes you to make a difficult decision. 

Sometimes, the decisions you make effect other people. 

Yesterday I was saved from a fate worse than death, I was saved from being sold to the highest bidder. 

I should be grateful, glad to be alive. I should be. 

The man beside me, driving the car we just stole, he is the reason I was nearly sold, the reason my fifteen year old sister was killed, after all he slit her delicate throat.

Could you let go, pretend it never happened? Trust a murderer? Or like me, would you need vengeance - justice? 

As Heinrich Heine once said "We should forgive our enemies, but not before they are hanged” 

I thought about forgiving him, but I want revenge, I want what's mine.

Thursday, 24 October 2013

Bridget Jones's Diary - Helen Fielding


Cover Rating: 4 out of 5
Rating: 3 out of 5


Synopsis:

Meet Bridget Jones—a 30-something Singleton who is certain she would have all the answers if she could:
a. lose 7 pounds
b. stop smoking
c. develop Inner Poise

"123 lbs. (how is it possible to put on 4 pounds in the middle of the night? Could flesh have somehow solidified becoming denser and heavier? Repulsive, horrifying notion), alcohol units 4 (excellent), cigarettes 21 (poor but will give up totally tomorrow), number of correct lottery numbers 2 (better, but nevertheless useless)..."

Bridget Jones' Diary is the devastatingly self-aware, laugh-out-loud daily chronicle of Bridget's permanent, doomed quest for self-improvement — a year in which she resolves to: reduce the circumference of each thigh by 1.5 inches, visit the gym three times a week not just to buy a sandwich, form a functional relationship with a responsible adult, and learn to program the VCR.

Over the course of the year, Bridget loses a total of 72 pounds but gains a total of 74. She remains, however, optimistic. Through it all, Bridget will have you helpless with laughter, and — like millions of readers the world round — you'll find yourself shouting, "Bridget Jones is me!"

Review:

I have read a lot of books,  few I read after seeing the movie and this is a prime example. I love the movies, it is one of the only films I can stand to watch Renee Zellweger at all. 

The book, it had a lot of the comedic flare but I was shocked to discover most of my favourite parts from the film weren't actually in the book.

Usually I sort of hate film adaptations, or at least I find it not quite as good or missing vital information. 

When this ended I was a bit like - but, huh? All this waffle about her crummy little life for this? for a crumb of hope and that's it? 

I have the second book because I bought them together, but otherwise I wouldn't read it. A big shame. I hope book two is better.





Tuesday, 15 October 2013

Rewired (Progress #3) - Amy Queau

Cover Rating: N/A
Rating: 4.5 out of 5

Synopsis:

Expected release date for the final book in The Progress Series is December, 2013.

“Because if it weren’t for Jesse, I would have never been the girl you fell in love with.” -Charlie

Impasse: def. noun. 1. a situation in which no progress seems possible. 2. a difficult or puzzling situation from which there is no easy escape.

Charlie is about to find out how far into Jesse’s tormented past she needs to travel when she hops into his car, leaving the man she loves alone and searching for answers.
But Samuel’s a fighter. He’s not about to give up without an explanation. And he’s soon to discover events in Charlie’s past that offer reasons to her recent behavior. But will it be enough for him to want her back?
Unable to forgive herself for what she’s done to Samuel - and her crumbling future without him - Charlie’s solution is simple: Help Jesse open his mind and his heart, allowing him to trust someone for the first time in his life.

Rewired is the third and final book in The Progress Series.

Warning: This book contains sensitive material (including sexually explicit content, acts of graphic violence, language, and triggers) and may not be appropriate for all readers.


Review:

"Progress is a nice word. But change is its motivator. And change has its enemies.”
Robert Francis Kennedy


Progress. That's the exact word we are given. Progress isn't where something is fixed or solved, it's progressed from one place to the next.

This book, who do you think is the main character, take your pick

Charlie? 

Jesse?

Sam?

I thought it was Charlie too, I thought that we were finding out who Charlie chooses, why Charlie made certain decisions. 

But this is about Jesse, we may not understand him, and we may judge him but this book is all about him and his thoughts, I loved the surprise Jesse excerpt at the end, beautifully done Amy. 

I started reading this a little disappointed, I didn't get it. I didn't understand why Charlie left, but this isn't her story. It's Jesse's.

I left wondering about his life and wondering if I could help fix him myself, because we know with his knee bouncing, he ain't on his meds. 

I wish we got a little more of my Charlie and Sam, but I like what we saw. 

A lovely trilogy and please Amy, don't stop writing. For each person who might slate your book, one person is being touched and inspired. Jesse's letter to Charlie made me think of many things in my life. It touched me and it will others. You are a natural Amy. Don't give up. 

4.5 stars. (I wanted more Sam, what can I say) 





Monday, 14 October 2013

Convicted (Consequences #3) - Aleatha Romig


Cover Rating: 4 out of 5
Rating: 5 out of 5

Synopsis:

You must stick to your CONVICTION, but be ready to abandon your assumptions - Denis Waitley

Book #3 of the Consequences Series—

There were still lessons to learn and consequences for the truth!
When Claire Nichols met Anthony Rawlings, she didn’t know they had a past, or that he had plans for her future. Over time, the role of teacher changed—games became reality—and domination turned to desire. Despite an insurmountable history, Claire and Tony found their way back to one another.

Just when they seemed to have it all—love, respect, and the promise of a family—the game master exposed the truth. Claire’s world once again spun out of control. Unwilling to allow her child to suffer the consequences of an old vendetta, Claire fled...

At one time, Claire was held captive in an opulent mansion—then her incarceration was a cell inside a state penitentiary. Was her new prison—a tropical island—truly less lonely? Perhaps that was the game master’s plan, all along? 

Who will save Claire from her oldest nightmare and her newest reality? Will it be Tony? Can he forgive her for leaving him—again? Harry? Will he utilize previously unknown connections to save the woman who infiltrates his thoughts? Maybe Phil? Will his devotion in keeping Claire and her child safe be rewarded? 

As the cards are played—sins of the past, innocent victims, and truths are revealed. With compartmentalization no longer an option, is the reality too much? Could there be an even worse isolation? 

With the game master dealing from a stacked deck, can this new high-stakes game possibly be won?

When it’s all over and their cards are on the table—SOME will discover their bets were too high—they have nothing left to lose—ALL will learn the crucial lesson—the most important rule—there are CONSEQUENCES for the TRUTH! 

Aleatha Romig’s CONVICTED!

Review: 

'In time, in time they tell me, I'll not feel so bad. I don't want time to heal me. There's a reason I'm like this.
I want time to set me ugly and knotted with loss of you, marking me. I won't smooth you away.
I can't say goodbye.”
― China MiĆ©ville, The Scar 


That quote sums up Convicted, it is a quote I read a long time ago and it kept hitting back at me with Convicted. 

The series is so complex and in-depth, this series is mature, in a way that many other stories around this subject miss. 

This isn't a normal 'stockholm' story at all. 

Claire, she has changed so much since Consequences, she was frightened and timid, where as now she is strong and determined. I was so proud of her. 

Emily, I don't like her. Maybe I should, maybe it is odd that I forgive Tony and not her, maybe it is odd that to me what she did was worse, but some how it is. She knew Claires past. Really she just didn't want Claire better.

Tony, even writing his name now makes my heart slightly warm. I don't know what to say about him other than - I cant wait to see what's behind those dark and intimidatingly sexy eyes.

Catherine, bitch. Ummm... That's it. 

Amber, knew it!! 

Sophia, it is sad, but they were impenetrable and they always will be. I just wish we got to see more of her and Derek, more of future. 

Meredith, an angel. 

fantastic series, beautifully written and I will look out for Romig. 

she makes you laugh, cry and question every. Tiny. Detail. She is a great author - I am so glad with what is coming :)

5***

Sometimes songs remind me of books - my song is Justin Timberlake - Amnesia

'So cold baby, now I’m going crazy
I don’t know why you need me alone
If it was true, if it was you
Don’t you think?, don’t you think I would know?
Amnesia! Every memory fades away till it’s gone
Where did you go?
Amnesia, everything and nothing
No 'we' anymore, she’s a stranger that I used to know


Now peace for those of us
Some have peace on inner
Tell me what happened?
Who they? Where did they go?
And was he enough, enough?
When did all the fire turn colder?
When did your heart start to beat slower?
My whole memory of me is now gone so far from me, it's not fair
And I can feel it almost start to change
But it just hurts too much, I let it go away'





Monday, 30 September 2013

Horrorscape (Horrorscape #2) - Nenia Campbell

Rating: 4/5
Cover Rating: 3/5

Synopsis:

Val receives a calling card from a very dangerous boy who wants to play with her. It's a game without rules, logic, or consequence, and he'll stop at nothing to claim her as his—even if it means destroying them both.

Three years ago, Valerian Kimble got herself entangled with a burgeoning sociopath intent on adding her to his own columns of wins and losses. She managed to escape him, but at a terrible cost...

This time it's personal.

Now a high school senior, Val is a pale shadow of the girl she once was and still recovering from the terrible trauma she suffered at his hands. She is understandably reluctant when her friends receive mysterious invitations to a theme party being held in one of the old manor homes on the edge of town.

Right away, something about the party seems off. The other guests are secretive, and strangely hostile. Cell phones don't work. Doors lock and unlock, seemingly at will. And the festivities start to take a turn for the sinister as the evening progresses. Because their host loves games. Loves them so much that he's decided to make a little wager. The deadline is sunrise. The stakes? Their lives.

Let the games begin.

Review:

Checkmate 

I go into books with a theory, with a knowledge of what I expect to happen - I always look for romance and I always want the bad guy to turn good - and it does my head in when these things don't appear.

usually though, those books, the ones I don't expect become the ones I cant forget, and Horrorscape is no exception.

What I loved

✔ The new characters especially Blake
✔ The change in Lisa - much better 
✔ The shocking areas, the moment when you realise - he isn't pretending.
✔ That GM intrigues me so much 

What I didn't love so much 

❌ Val seemed to have gotten a little dumb in three years - she wasn't the same 
❌ That no one recognised GM 
❌ Plot holes regarding the black team - who are they? Brent? 
❌ What GMs true intentions are and why he chose Val

Generally this was great. It was a little unbelievable at times but it was a captivating read, I finished at 3am.

I have downloaded the final book which has some pretty clear warnings - I'm terrified but I have to read it, don't I. 


Fearscape (Horrorscape #1) - Nenia Campbell


Rating: 4.5/5
Cover Rating: 4/5


Synopsis:

He followed her because he wanted to own her. She trusted him because she wanted excitement. There's a saying that curiosity can kill … but Valerian Kimble is beginning to learn that satisfaction might just be worse.

Fourteen-year-old Valerian lives in an age where antiheroes and bad boys are portrayed as the romantic ideal, and good guys are passe and boring. So when Gavin Mecozzi, the school's brilliant but twisted loner, begins to show an interest in her after a chance meeting in a pet store, Val is intrigued. He's charming and poetic and makes her feel things that she thought were only possible in books--

Fear.

Because somebody is stalking Val. Somebody who wants to hurt her. Own her. Possess her. Maybe even kill her.

As her meetings with Gavin unravel into a more complex and frightening relationship, Val can't help but wonder if the new boy in her life is her depraved and obsessive stalker.

And whether he's capable of murder.

Time is running out.

Review:

The almost more YA version of Consequences... In other words - mind fuckery

This kept me on the edge of my seat. 

Loved...

✔ writing - The research into chess and animals and even psychology 
✔ suspense - that not knowing if you can even read another sentence without screaming feeling
✔ moral questioning - Who is the bad guy? 
✔ Character creation - this starts almost slow but it isn't boring at all which is rare. 

Not so keen on 

X That I want a HEA, and book two scares me lol

fantastic young person/new adult suspense thriller. Gavin is a great psychopath and Val the beautiful and sweet victim
I am terrified of book two just like after Consequences I was scared of Truth and after Captive in the Dark I was scares of Seduced... 

But sometimes... You have to know what happens next. 

Great read - 4.5


Monday, 16 September 2013

Mine to Keep (Mine #2) - Cynthia Eden


Cover Rating: 4 out of 5
Rating: 4.5/5 out of 5

Synopsis:

Love is the most dangerous obsession…

Skye Sullivan is trying to put the pieces of her life back together. She survived a brutal stalker and escaped his abduction, and now she is looking to the future—a future that includes Skye’s lover, billionaire Trace Weston. Skye thinks the danger is finally over for her.

She’s dead wrong.

When Trace’s past comes back to haunt him, Skye discovers that the man she loves isn't quite who he seems to be. Trace has been leading a double-life. An ex-special forces agent, his military training turned him into the perfect killing machine. He made more than his share of enemies during his time in the military—and as he built his security empire—and one of those enemies is striking back.

He won’t lose her.

Skye is the one weapon that can be used against Trace—his only vulnerability. But he won’t let her go—he can’t. Trace will do anything necessary to protect Skye. Anything. Yet when she discovers the secrets that he’s tried to keep hidden, Skye’s pain and rage may send her running directly into the cross-hairs of a killer…


Review: 

He promised forever 

4.5

Really brilliant sequel, I'll admit I wasn't sure when I read this was only released due to the popularity of book one (felt like selling out) but this was a fantastic and welcome edition, it put the already captivating first book to shame. It seems Eden is an author who wants to outdo herself.

I loved the mystery and suspense and I was on the edge of my seat, not many books actually make me have doubts on the bad guy and the good guy but this one kept be guessing. 

I am soooo looking forward to book three because I fell for the couple that will be featured in it from this book. 

A great edge of your seat suspense series. I'll miss Trace.

PUBLISHED TODAY.

Wednesday, 4 September 2013

I'm back!

Hello to everyone in the bloggosphere.

I don't know if you have noticed but I have been missing from SkyRose for about two months and I would like to apologise for that but alas real life is very overbearing but I am back. For good this time.

I will like to thank Mercy for keeping the blog going but reviewing an impressive list of books.

To celebrate my return, I will be hosting a month of one of my favourite genres, Paranormal Romance. To top if all of, sometime this month I will also be reviewing a very special book by our very own Mercy Corez.


Messy and Shattered - Mercy Cortez

Free on Amazon from 04 September - 06 September 2013

Now to sneak in a shameless bit of advertising, the cover for this book is made my me. So I would appreciate any constructive criticism. If you are in need of a cover, please go to my other site www.sylermeia.co.uk for more detail or leave me a message here.

Sunday, 1 September 2013

Freak [Creep #2] - Jennifer Hillier

Cover Rating: 3 out of 5
Rating: 3.5/4 out of 5

Synopsis:

Suspense magazine chose Jennifer Hillier’s “truly frightening” debut, Creep, as one of 2011’s best novels, while #1 bestselling author Jeffery Deaver cautioned “you better call in sick—you’re not going anywhere until you finish reading.” Now, Hillier returns to the Pacific Northwest college town where one killer’s stranglehold has ebbed . . . but another sick mind has waited for the perfect moment to pick up where the terror left off.

Sitting alone in a maximum-security prison cell, Abby Maddox is a celebrity. Her claim to fame is the envy of every freak on the outside: she’s the former lover of Ethan Wolfe, the killer who left more than a dozen dead women in his wake and nearly added Puget Sound State professor Sheila Tao to the tally. Now Abby, serving a nine-year sentence for slashing a police officer’s throat in a moment of rage, has little human contact—save for the letters that pour in from demented fans, lunatics, and creeps. But a new wave of murders has given Abby a possible chance for a plea bargain—because this killer has been sending her love letters, and carving a message on the bodies of the victims: Free Abby Maddox.

Jerry Isaac will never forget the attack—or his attacker. The hideous scarring and tortured speech are daily reminders that the one-time Seattle PD officer, now a private investigator, is just lucky to be alive. Abby Maddox deserves to rot in jail—forever, as far as Jerry’s concerned. But she alone may possess crucial evidence—letters from this newest killer—that could crack open the disturbing case. With the help of Professor Sheila Tao, seasoned police detective Mike Torrance, and intuitive criminology student Danny Mercy, Jerry must coax the shattering truth from isolated, dangerous Abby Maddox. Can he put the pieces together before Abby’s number one fan takes another life in the name of a killer’s perverted idea of justice?

Review:

There is no terror in the bang, only in the anticipation of it - Hitchcock 


3.5 interesting, entertaining and misdirected stars 


Okay. So we know from Creep that Ethan is gone. Abby Maddox is far from it. 

I enjoyed this sequel, it was interesting and captivating. It was the right amount of suspense writing mixed with hope to make you keep reading. 

A great story BUT 

I already read it in Creep.

I couldn't help but think that Freak was a bit of a rehash of a book I already read and adored. Like I say I still enjoyed Freak fiercely, just not as much as the previous book.

I was more captivated by the story of Abby and Ethan, and I'd like a prequel book about how they met. 

This story for me held very little resolve and that's another thing that bothered me. Either this needs a book three or it was slightly anti climatic.

Like I say, good book but not as good as the brilliance that was Creep!

I really like this author though and I'll certainly be keeping an eye out for more from her. 


Tuesday, 27 August 2013

The Girl in 6E - Alessandra Torre

Cover Rating: 4 out of 5
Rating: 5 out of 5

Synopsis:

I screw men for money. Not literally, think phone sex operator with a 15 megapixel web cam thrown in. They tell me their deepest, darkest fantasies while paying me $6.99 a minute. 

What would possess me to engage in such a business? Throw in a tortured past, 24/7 murderous thoughts, and a desire to keep the innocent people of my small town safe. 

I was contained, out of the way, sexcamming my way to utter obscurity until HE came along. A twisted client armed with a target's name. Annie. And in that name, everything changed.


Review: 

Wow. This wasn't what I expected, it was a million times more. 

This story starts one way and becomes a snowball of emotions and questions. The moment you realise you have solved a little bit of the puzzle you feel proud and excited.

Jeremy was intriguing; I loved that he was the UPS guy, just a normal guy who anyone could meet.

The second half of this book is so fast paced, it leaves you pushing on and needing to read more.. I whispered "please" in my head a few times, wanting it to end well. 

It is all described well and I didn't feel that their were any real loose ends to worry about.

I also loved the I.T guy, he seemed pretty sweet and I liked the relationship there.

There isn't another book like this, it's so original... a lovely breath of fresh air. 


The Tied Man - Tabitha McGowan

Cover Rating: 5 out of 5 (L.O.V.E IT)
Rating: 4 out of 5

Synopsis: 

Lilith Bresson, an independent, successful young artist, is forced to travel from her home in Spain to the wild borderlands of northern England, to repay her feckless father’s latest debt by painting a portrait of the enigmatic Lady Blaine Albermarle.

On her first night at Albermarle Hall she meets Finn Strachan, Blaine’s ‘companion’, a cultured and hauntingly beautiful young man who seems to have it all. But Lilith has an artist’s eye, and a gift for seeing what lies beneath the skin. She soon discovers that Blaine is more gaoler than lover, and if the price is right, depravity has no limits.

As the weeks pass, Lilith finds that she too is drawn into the malign web that her patron has spun, yet against the odds she forges a strong friendship with the damaged, dysfunctional Finn. In a dark, modern twist to an age-old story, Lilith Bresson proves that sometimes it’s the princess who needs to become the rescuer.

Please note that this story-line contains depictions of drug abuse, violence and non-consensual sexual activity.

Review:

Even in his absence he filled every corner of my shrunken world 

4 great stars.

Not what I was expecting really, after reading Captured in the Dark and Seduced in the Dark I wanted something similar, this... wasn't it... it was the perfect retreat away from it.

This should have been dark and mournful but McGowan writes in such a way inappropriate laughter is expected. Finn is written perfectly and he has a way of making even awkward jokes funny.

Blaine... I wish I knew more about her, I wonder what made her so soulless, but I guess monsters are sometimes just there.

A stand out character was Nat, I really liked him and I wouldn't mind reading his story.

I love character driven stories and that's what this is.

Lilith is hilarious, on the same par as Nora, Olivia and other fantastic leading ladies.

I want book two! Like now. Pwease.