Thursday, 30 May 2013

Devon's Last Chance - Edward M. Wolfe


Rating: 5 out of 5

Cover Rating: 2.5 out of 5

Synopsis: 

Devon is a dark spirit who is tasked with turning good people bad. Not only is that his job, but the release of energy at the moment of such conversions provides him with his life force. He has now gone too long between conversions and has only enough energy left to try one last time at making someone give up a life of good for evil.

Lance is a man who has reached a point in life where everything is going better than he ever believed possible. He is on his way to celebrate his 28th birthday and the closing of a business deal that will make him wealthy. His best friend and his fiance are waiting for him at his favorite restaurant.

This is when Devon spots Lance and targets him for his last chance at his own survival. Will Devon be able to interfere with Lance's life by tempting those he is connected to and cause catastrophic changes in Lances life - enough so that Lance will turn evil and release his energy?


Review:

Why isn't everyone reading this?

Not what I expected at all. It starts slow and a little confusing but at 30% I was addicted.

This is insane, it's all about the ripple effect, one action causes a reaction. This explores one interpretation of why and how. 

The how is Devon. Devon is like a being, not a human but a temptation; the evil to the story. He looks for people who are content enough that one change can ruin it all.

I loved the quote regarding how if something seems to good to be true it probably is. How Wolfe then interpreted that to mean if your life seems to good to be true, then something is a lie.

Wolfe writes thought provoking stories, they might be short but they are bite sized thoughts and they stay with you for a while.

I nearly cried at one point, I'm a dog person, read it and you'll see why.

For a thought provoking read I suggest a book by Wolfe, I've read two of his so far and each time I come away with logical and deep thought analysis.

life can be changed by one tiny decision

5 stars.


Sunday, 26 May 2013

Raziel [The Fallen #1] - Kristina Douglas

Rating - 3 out of 5 Cupcakes
Cover Rating - 4 out of 5 Cupcakes

Synopsis

“You’re dead” is so not what Allie Watson wants to hear. Unfortunately, it explains a lot. Like the dark, angelically handsome man who ferried her to this strange, hidden land. The last thing she remembers is stepping off a curb in front of a crosstown bus. Now she’s surrounded by gorgeous fallen angels with an unsettling taste for blood—and they really don’t want her around. Not exactly how she pictured heaven.

. . . until death catapulted her into a seductive world she never imagined.


Raziel is unsure why he rescued Allie from hellfire against Uriel’s orders, but she stirs in him a longing he hasn't felt in centuries. Now the Fallen are bracing for the divine wrath brought by his disobedience, and they blame Allie for the ferocious Nephilim clawing at the kingdom’s shrouded gates. Facing impossible odds at every turn, the two must work together to survive. Raziel will do anything to defend his spirited lover against the forces of darkness—because Allie may be the Fallen’s only salvation.

Review

When I first started the book I have to say I wasn't a fan of the narrative. I didn't think and I still don;t think first person is the best narrative for paranormal romance. It takes away the mystery of the plot and to be honest I love imagining what the paranormal love interest is thinking. Second of all I was not a fan of why she was sentenced to hell, he day job seems to have been created for the convenience of giving her some knowledge about the angel's name which I believe to be entirely unnecessary. I know a lot about angels and that has nothing to do with religion or a job, I just like mythology and watch too much supernatural for my own good.

Once you get passes this minor plot weakness, the first person narrative becomes rather endearing really. There are some quirky battles of wits and wam bam thank you ma'am the book is finished. Nothing actually happens in the book until the last minute and then loads of people die which you really don't care about because the author hasn't taken to take time to build relationships.Come to think of it I have to say that this was a rather mildly interesting book that doesn't really provoke any sort of emotional response from me.

For that I am giving to give it 3 starts and say I am being generous. This is the book you enjoy reading only when you are reading it. Give it even the smallest amount of thought after the process and you are reminded that it is rather empty.


Tuesday, 21 May 2013

Birthmarked [Birthmarked #1] - Caragh O'Brien


Rating - 5 out of 5 Cupcakes
Cover Rating - 3.5 out of 5 Cupcakes

Synopsis

In the future, in a world baked dry by the harsh sun, there are those who live inside the wall and those, like sixteen-year-old midwife, Gaia Stone, who live outside. Gaia has always believed it is her duty, with her mother, to hand over a small quota of babies to the Enclave. But when Gaia's mother and father are arrested by the very people they so dutifully serve, Gaia is forced to question everything she has been taught to believe. Gaia's choice is now simple: enter the world of the Enclave to rescue her parents, or die trying.

Review

I can't tell you how much I loved this book. It was fantastic in every possible level. Despite the fact that this book is 360 pages long I did not feel like I read more than a 100 pages. The story flowed naturally from one realistic disaster to another.

Many a times before I have complained that the female characters in the book are whiny and rather obnoxious. I was delighted to find that Gaia was none of the above. She was a delicious mix of brave, intelligent and still had the vulnerabilities of of a 16 year old. The romance in this book is less heavy handed than some books I have read but this didn't take away from how amazing it was when it happened either.

Unlike many readers I know I have never been a very big fan of the Dystopian genre, I didn't have any particular dislike to it nevertheless it was never my genre of choice. In the past I have felt that there was too much emphasis on the changing of technology and usually there is no explanation given as to what happened to cause society to change so much. The energy explanation given in the book is not only feasible but also allows O'Brien to focus more on the development of characters rather than having to waste time with a history lesson.

I don't really know how much more I can possibly recommend this book. I give it 5 out of 5 cupcakes and I can't freaking wait to read the next book.





Progress (Progress #1) - Amy Queau



Rating: 4 out of 5
Cover rating: 3 put of 5

Free on Sunday 26th May!

Synopsis:

Is love an infection or is it a sick addiction, when there's nowhere left to run?

Jesse has a curious attraction to Charlie, a hostess at the restaurant where he works. Outwardly he’s rude, awkward and unapproachable. But his sudden bursts of charm are inescapable. A devastating childhood filled with physical and emotional abuse have left him complex and frigid.

Charlie, an innocent, is quickly mystified. Her craving for him generates an infatuation and a purpose. Losing weight and gaining confidence, she begins taking more risks. She defies her past, damaged and tender, in order to move ahead.

If nobody makes the first move then nobody gets hurt.

Their journeys take them down parallel paths which leave them just as emotionally unmatched and conflicted as the day they met. As the story progresses the viewpoints change, giving the reader an insight to the character’s thoughts and feelings.

Psychological Fiction, Contemporary Romance, Women's Fiction.


Review:

I was very lucky to win a copy of this book from LovelyBookBlog.

So after three... one... two...three....awwwww!

That's what I kept thinking mixed with... 'Noooo' and 'Please'.

This is well written and sincere. Queau has clearly done her research.

The characters are complex and Queau does do well to explore the inner workings of these characters and to help you understand the actions that take place.

I liked that Jesse isnt likable - at first. I always love that!

I love that Charlie is plus size but I kinda wish she stayed that way. Also her issues aren't discussed in too much detail which is a shame. I have been told that this will be discussed further within the trilogy so i cant wait for that. 

Part two was brilliant, I loved seeing it from Jesses P.O.V and his inner monologue is breathtaking and i felt rather original. I even got tearful for Jesse; even if he can be an arse.

I'm looking forward to book two which will probably be more heart wrenching than book one.

If you like authors like Abbi Glines, Jessica Sorensen and the like you'll fall for Charlie and Jesse - Hard!

Beautiful and real. Hats off to you Ms Queau.

4 stars.





Monday, 20 May 2013

It Started With A Click: A Memoir of an eBay Romance - Estelle Wilkinson


Rating: 2 out of 5
Cover Rating: 1 out of 5 (the main character barely wears dresses - ever!)

Synopsis:

It’s not unusual to find romance online through internet dating - but who would ever think of finding a partner on eBay?

That possibility never occurs to Catherine, happily single and playing the field. Until she goes on eBay in search of tickets to an England rugby match and gets rather more than she was bidding for...

After winning an auction for a pair of tickets, she strikes up a friendship with their seller, Damian. Fuelled by their common interest in rugby, their relationship moves forward very quickly. The more they find out about each other, the more they appear to have in common. But having never met, and with over 200 miles between them, can this really be the start of something special?

A true story, It Started With A Click is the collection of emails and messages sent between Catherine and Damian as they came to know each other very well.

Review:

DNF ... ugh I hate that. My first one!

I loved the premise, I loved the idea of the transcripts and following this story.

I like it to begin with, finding myself laughing out loud at parts, but it was just too long winded. I know at the start Estelle does warn us it's a slow starter but I personally couldn't get into it, it is a fairly long book. I skipped to 75% and it got a little better, the talk was a lot more what I was expecting but I got bored again by 77% and just read the end.

I tried but this wasn't for me, I really love e romances and I wanted to like this as the idea was fantastic.

The use of exclamation marks was a little tedious at times. I won't read book two. Such a shame, great concept.

I'm giving this two stars for the originality, just unfortunately wasn't for me, had great potential though.


Sunday, 19 May 2013

In My Mailbox #12


This meme is hosted by The Story Siren
This week I got a couple of books, ebooks and some audiobooks. It was my birthday weekend so I got a lot of stuff which always makes me happy.


Books
A Song of Ice and Fire collection by George R. R. Martine
- A Game of Thrones
- A Clash of Kings
- A Storm of Swords
- A Feast for Crows
- A Dance with Dragons 
Birthmarked by Garagh O'Brien
Die for Me by Amy Plum
Virals by Kathy Reichs
Fahrenheit  451 by Ray Bradbury 

Audiobooks
Matched by Alley Condy 
Icon by Margaret Stohl
Feed by Mira Grant
Insurgent by Veronica Roth
Under the Never Sky by Veronica Roth
Splintered by A.G. Howard
Etiquette & Espionage by Gail Carriger 
The Selection by Kara Cass
The Witches Daughter by  Paula Brackston
Unspoken by Sarah Rees Brennan 
Unearthly trilogy by Cynthia Hand
- Unearthly
- Hollowed
- Boundless

Saturday, 18 May 2013

Forbidden by Tabitha Suzuma



Synopsis:

She is pretty and talented – sweet sixteen and never been kissed. He is seventeen; gorgeous and on the brink of a bright future. And now they have fallen in love. But… they are brother and sister.
Seventeen-year-old Lochan and sixteen-year-old Maya have always felt more like friends than siblings. Together they have stepped in for their alcoholic, wayward mother to take care of their three younger siblings. As defacto parents to the little ones, Lochan and Maya have had to grow up fast. And the stress of their lives—and the way they understand each other so completely—has also also brought them closer than two siblings would ordinarily be. So close, in fact, that they have fallen in love. Their clandestine romance quickly blooms into deep, desperate love. They know their relationship is wrong and cannot possibly continue. And yet, they cannot stop what feels so incredibly right. As the novel careens toward an explosive and shocking finale, only one thing is certain: a love this devastating has no happy ending.
Review:
Lochan and Maya were forced to watch over their brothers and sisters and have to pay bills while their mother was out drinking and with her boyfriend. Rather than feeling like brother and sister they felt like partners. The line in which brother and sisters shouldn’t cross becomes blurred with time. They fell in love.
This probably sounds absolutely disgusting. Though when you read the book it doesn’t. This was one of the many things I loved about the book. Tabitha Suzuma can actually make you feel the love. It wasn’t like “OMG! I had totally forgotten they were siblings!” No, I was conscious always of what they were and it never felt wrong.
By the ending my heart was beating so hard I thought it would just burst out of my chest, and in the last page it just stopped. I can feel that hollow. My shaking hands. I couldn't believe what I just read. Even though I finished it yesterday my mind was completely blown and it feels like a piece of my soul has just died after reading the ending. 
Life Changing in every sense of the word. No kidding. The book had many lessons including not to judge a person or a situation. I don’t think my review does any justice to this book but. . . you should just read it.




Friday, 17 May 2013

Paranormalcy [Paranormalcy #1] - Kiersten White


Synopsis

Evie's always thought of herself as a normal teenager, even though she works for the International Paranormal Containment Agency, her ex-boyfriend is a faerie, she's falling for a shape-shifter, and she's the only person who can see through paranormals' glamours.

But Evie's about to realize that she may very well be at the centre of a dark faerie prophecy promising destruction to all paranormal creatures.

So much for normal.


Review

I wanted this review while it was still fresh in my head. There are not a lot of books that keep me on the edge of my seat and I am glad to say that this was one of those books.  I hesitated in reading this book for such a long time, I wanted to take in the beautiful cover and keep the book in the eternally beautiful state rather than risk reading it and be disappointed yet again but I am glad I finally too the risk.

This book is, to phrase it like Evie, ''freaking awesome!''.  I could not put it down, I felt like I wanted to devour the whole thing. Before I delve into how much I really loved it let me star by saying things I was not such a fan of. First of all I wasn't wild about Evie's  … how do I phrase this, there was a lot of "Seriously? Shut up!" and other equally annoying ways of teen talk. Having lived half my life  in east London I am not a stranger to colloquial language, in fact I am pretty sure I say classically British things like "bloody hell" and classically American things like "duuuude".While it doesn't usually bother me in speech, it becomes more noticeable when you are reading it and can get somewhat tiresome (look at me using such a fancy word).

The other thing that bothered me about the book, well it is two thing really but since they are both related I think I can role them up into one bundle. As a person who cried   about once a year, I have a problem with girls and their tears. Seriously it is a problem in real life too, I have no idea how to deal with them and I find hugging crying people or if I am really honest any prolonged physical contact with people  I haven't known for older than sin makes me very uncomfortable. Mostly if people are having a continuous sobbing fit I am more likely to be the person who slaps them and tell them to pull together and since you can't slap someone through the book (you could try I suppose but it would be an exercise in futility or you could pretend you are the character and slap yourself but again it would make no difference and you will be left with a sore cheek and possibly gets your mum to test you for insanity) so you are left a little bit frustrated.

Tied with the same tears problem is Evie's complete helplessness. At the beginning she seemed so much more in control, tearing into Vamps like they were just walking corpses rather than blood drinking wannabe minions of the devil, okay the last part I added but who can blame me I have never seen Vamps diminished so much since Twilight. As the book went on Evie become increasingly less powerful and while I understood that she was now on a playing field where she was massively out gunned, part of me hopped that she would snap into kick ass girl. In the end I suppose I understood while her upbringing was rather unconventional, she was just a sixteen year old girl with all the insecurities and naivety of one that age.  Her reaction to things were incredible realistic of a sixteen year old right down to her desire to experience normality in all it un-glory.

I loved Lend. At first his name was kind of weird but I think I understand it's significance now, although I could be over analysing things entirely which is all too possible. I can't tell you what I think the significance it because I don't want to spoil it for you since this book is worth reading.

  I was actually quite surprised by the way this book had turned out. Initially I had assumed this book was going to be a amalgamation of the usual lore with a specific focus on a species we were expected to think was sexy but this went in the entirely different path of creating a world where every species was unique in its own brilliance and was as diverse as a world can get. The creatures in this book are powerful, beautiful and yet hideous in their own way . They are created so that they could never really fit in the world we perceive and that made them all that much perfect.

There was one more thing I loved about this book and it was the relationship between people. Despite the only too different world they lived in, they all seemed very much alive in the sense that they had a depth in them. Even Lish with her monotonous robotic voice conveyed an emotional richness that you rarely see in other books. I especially loved Evie's relationship with Raquel. There was always some sense of ambiguity when it came to where they really stood but there have been many times where I thought they might as well be mother and daughter.

I am now going to stop myself since I am likely to carry on glorifying this book for hours and pages no one will ever read. I award this book 4 out of 5 cupcakes and a promise that I am going to run to the shops as soon as I can to get my and on Supernaturally. I am very glad that this book was more than the sum of its beautiful cover.



P.S. Have I told you how much I love the title, it's freaking awesome!


Monday, 13 May 2013

The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight - Jennifer E. Smith


Rating - 4 out of 5 cupcakes
Cover Rating - 2 out of 5 cupcakes

Synopsis

Who would have guessed that four minutes could change everything?

Today should be one of the worst days of seventeen-year-old Hadley Sullivan's life. Having missed her flight, she's stuck at JFK airport and late to her father's second wedding, which is taking place in London and involves a soon-to-be stepmother Hadley's never even met. Then she meets the perfect boy in the airport's cramped waiting area. His name is Oliver, he's British, and he's sitting in her row.

A long night on the plane passes in the blink of an eye, and Hadley and Oliver lose track of each other in the airport chaos upon arrival. Can fate intervene to bring them together once more?

Quirks of timing play out in this romantic and cinematic novel about family connections, second chances, and first loves. Set over a twenty-four-hour-period, Hadley and Oliver's story will make you believe that true love finds you when you're least expecting it.

Review

When I picked it up I did not think this book would be as good as the title and it when I read it was different from what I expected but this book was still surprisingly good, a little on the slightly unrealistic side in terms of the events after the flight but still fun nonetheless. Trust me peeps the chance of finding someone in the way Hadley did was almost impossible, in London you can get lost almost infinite times within a mile radius.
Hadley had a very clear and likable voice that made reading this book amazingly enjoyable. Hadley is an emotional wreck; she is sad, angry and feels betrayed by her dad and the sudden destruction of her family unit. She is insecure, reckless and irrational. She embodies not just the perfect teenager but the perfectly real human being.

I can’t say I am a real fan of the way Oliver speaks, as a British person I have to say we do not talk like we are from the colonial period but nonetheless her was a good enough hero. Nothing in happened in the book that could not happen in real life… maybe.

When reading YA books I am always mindful of how annoyingly unrealistic the parents are but Smith has written yet another realistic set of characters. The parents are not perfect of completely distant, they both love their daughter but each one has faults and they admit to it. I actually really liked Hadley’s dad, despite the fact that he had made a mistake that split their family unit; this does not make him a monster. He is simply a man who fell in love and the romantic in me sort of melts at that scene.

I really liked this book with it’s very simple and introspective storyline. I give it 4 out 5 cupcakes.


Sunday, 12 May 2013

A Virtual Love - Andrew Blackman



Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Cover rating: 2 out of 5



Synopsis:

For Jeff Brennan, juggling multiple identities is a way of life. Online he has dozens of different personalities and switches easily between them. Offline, he shows different faces to different people: the caring grandson, the angry eco-protester, the bored IT consultant. So when the beautiful Marie mistakes him for a famous blogger, he thinks nothing of adding this new identity to his repertoire. But as they fall in love and start building a life together, Jeff is gradually forced into more and more desperate measures to maintain his new identity, and the boundaries between his carefully segregated personas begin to fray. In a world where truth is a matter of perspective and identities are interchangeable, Jeff finds himself trapped in his own web of lies. How far will he go to maintain his secrets? And even if he wanted to turn back, would he be able to?

Review: 

Hmmm...Where was the resolve? Where was the outcome?

I read this like a starved animal; wanting to understand and to finally find the romance in this story.

The writing style is unusual and is a great way to immerse yourself in the story and although I understood the lack of descriptions I wondered what Jeff looked like, I didn't know anything about him really except his age of 23, later we find out the blog has been going fir seven years which would make Jeff (the fake unreal blogger Jeff) 16 when it was first written; which to me seems unlikely to begin with.

I loved Jon, he sounded so comparable to so many men I have met and some I have even dated, he wants the quiet life away from any real responsibility and away from the pressures of having anything tangible to call an achievement. I would like him to have another book although I know he won't, because this isn't a romantic story; not really. So he won't ever get a happily ever after.

This story was captivating and inspiring - then it ended, almost half finished. I don't regret reading it or the low sum of 99p to buy it but maybe I just like everything tied up in a neat bow so I know that the last 256 pages where for a reason and the reason was realised and accomplished.

Plenty of twists though and theories in your own head about what would be next. 

3.5 stars... I wanted a conclusion. My own need for everything left in a pretty bow downgraded this but don't let that stop you reading this addictive story.




Friday, 10 May 2013

Everneath [Everneath#1] - Brodi Ashton




Rating - 2 out 5
Cover Rating - 5 out of 5

Synopis
Last spring, Nikki Beckett vanished, sucked into an underworld known as the Everneath. Now she's returned--to her old life, her family, her boyfriend--before she's banished back to the underworld . . . this time forever. She has six months before the Everneath comes to claim her, six months for good-byes she can't find the words for, six months to find redemption, if it exists.

Nikki longs to spend these precious months forgetting the Everneath and trying to reconnect with her boyfriend, Jack, the person most devastated by her disappearance--and the one person she loves more than anything. But there's just one problem: Cole, the smoldering immortal who enticed her to the Everneath in the first place, has followed Nikki home. Cole wants to take over the throne in the underworld and is convinced Nikki is the key to making it happen. And he'll do whatever it takes to bring her back, this time as his queen.

Review

This book has been in my TBR pile for so long that it already has two sequels  I saw this book and fell completely in love with the beautiful cover. It is magnificent but part of me knew that I was not going to like it. After reading so many classics and pulp fiction masterpieces I have grown to hate books with immature characters.

Nikki is a wimp, throughout the book she does absolutely nothing but hide behind her hair and knit like an old lady. Seriously almost nothing eventful happens in this book, everything is retrospect and while that was originally intriguing, it gets rather tedious after a while. First of all I am no longer a fan of best friends falling in love, it has been done so many times I am simply to exhausted with it. Second of all how can someone so whiny and spineless manage to bag the start quarterback [sigh] and an immortal. What is with Americans and football anyway. I mean seriously it's like rugby for cowards and why is it even called football, it played by hands and the ball is not even ball shaped. As for Cole, why would an immortal being take under aged girls. What is YA genre and cradle robbing. It is not hot! and that thing with the guitar, I felt like I was stuck in a never ending Taylor SWIFT video with random bursts of music like some psychedelic trip.

Nick is as flat as she says she is, there is absolutely no depth in her even when she used to have emotions. Her father is not much better, his daughter disappears for six months and he asked absolutely no questions and just assumes she was on drug and went to rehab. Yes because a person can go and become a junkie and then get clean in just 6 months and still have not a single drug showing up in their blood. Sorry sweety but getting clean is not that simple.

The only character I liked in the book was her brother Tommie whom I hole in more esteem that everyone else put together.

Overall I give the book 2 out of 5 cupcakes





Thursday, 9 May 2013

Deadly Little Secret by Laurie Faria Stolarz

                                                                                                         
                                                                                                                Deadly Little Secret (Touch, #1)
Rating -2 out of 5 stars
Cover Rating - 1 out of 5 stars

Synopsis

Until three months ago, everything in sixteen-year-old Camelia's life had been fairly ordinary: decent grades, an okay relationship with her parents, and a pretty cool part-time job at the art studio downtown. But when a mysterious boy named Ben starts junior year at her high school, Camelia's life becomes anything but ordinary.

Rumored to be somehow responsible for his ex-girlfriend's accidental death, Ben is immediately ostracized by everyone on campus. Except for Camelia. She's reluctant to believe he's trouble, even when her friends try to convince her otherwise. Instead, she's inexplicably drawn to Ben and to his touch. But soon, Camelia is receiving eerie phone calls and strange packages with threatening notes. Ben insists she is in danger, and that he can help-but can he be trusted? She knows he's hiding something... but he's not the only one with a secret.

Review

First half of the book I believed it was so much like Twilight. Though it seems like a lot of the time some books are Twilightish. I just wish they could write their own books and that sound original. Anyway I wasn't a huge fan of Camelia's friends, Wes and Kimmie. They were extremely immature and half the time Kimmie was too self absorbed to really even take the pictures and such very seriously. At least she helped somewhat towards the middle so she wasn't too terrible of a character.
So in this book pretty much everyone like Camelia. That’s not really realistic! Personally I hate books like that. I think that authors need to start making their main characters have more flaws because no one is perfect.

I also didn't really feel like Ben liked her. He only reacted to her because he “felt” something when he touched her. *Eye roll* She was obsessed, almost to the point of stalking Ben, and he tired to stay away from her until he “felt” that she was going to be in danger.

This was a quick easy read and I'm not entirely sure if I want to read the next book, but I probably will just to see if it gets better. 


                                                  

Overall I give this book 2 out of 5 Cupcakes.




                                                                                   

Held - Kimberly A. Bettes


 

Rating: 5 out of 5
Cover: 4.5 out of 5

Synopsis:

Nicole Lee walks out of the store and across the parking lot toward her car and her fate.

He watches her, waiting for the right moment to make his move.

When the opportunity presents itself, he seizes it, and suddenly, Nicole’s worst nightmare becomes her reality.

He holds Nicole captive, forcing her to watch as he tortures and murders a string of women, using methods that go beyond anything Nicole can imagine. She watches as he hacks up body after body, knowing that at any time, she could be next. Never knowing which breath will be her last, she suffers tortures of her own as she’s Held.


My Review:

'This guy was nuttier than a squirrel turd'

A sick and twisted 5 stars!

My mind is so confused right now. I couldn't stop reading this, my kindle battery died and only then did I stop.

This was unlike anything I've ever read and i have read a lot of kidnap and sexual sadist/violent books at this point.

This is like Comfort Food but a LOT worse. This isn't BDSM or Romantic notions of rape and physical abuse. The male lead, Ron; he isn't someone you want to understand; he isn't someone that makes you believe he has any good in him. You aren't desperate for love and devotion in this book; you're desperate to see Ron die in the worse possible way he could.

Nicole plays the part well; and at the start the banter between her and the captor is highly amusing; as time progresses you find it much harder to laugh.

This book is not for the faint-hearted; this is the most explicit and graphic story I have ever read; this includes Captive in the Dark; Comfort Food and The Tied Man. 

This book includes necrophilia, rape, battery...words cant describe how many evil things are in this.

Bettes is a fantastic writer; absolutely no question. How she managed to write a book as violent and unforgettable is beyond me; she has one sick and brilliant mind.

This isn't really left on a cliff hanger as such; but their is a book 2 and even if I want to claw my eyes out reading it; I know Bettes will keep me coming for more.

Disturbing, mind-blowing, emotional, desperate... I wont forget this in a hurry even though I almost wish I could.




Tuesday, 7 May 2013

Twisted Perfection - Abbi Glines

 


 Rating - 3.5 out of 5 
                                                             
 Cover Rating - 4 out of 5


Synopsis:

Life outside of her house was a new experience for Della Sloane. The dark secrets of her past weren’t something she ever intended to share with anyone. They would never understand. No one would ever get close enough to find out. There was always a chance she’d go crazy sooner than they expected…

Woods Kerrington had never been one to be attracted to fragile females. They seemed like too much work. He wasn’t in it for the work just the pleasure. A night full of naughty fun had been exactly what was on his mind when he’d laid eyes on the hot little number that didn’t know how to pump gas and needed some help.

What he didn’t know was she was as fragile as they came.
The carefree girl who spoke her mind and didn’t care what the world thought of her was more breakable than he could ever imagine.

Review: 


Tripp...Grant...Woods....Mmmmmm
3.5.

This is a follow through from the Fallen too Far series. It is looking at the Woods character and exploring his character in more depth. We are introduced to Della, a girl who has a dark and foreboding past and we spend half the book wondering why she is quite so odd.


This story I loved at the end.

The thing is, I sort of didn't like the main characters...

Della, I felt she was too easily promiscuous, I felt sorry for her and I was curious of her past but she just seemed, too... reckless. I get she didn't want to not experience things but she seemed too naive I guess. I warmed to her nearer the end, when her actions became clearer.

Woods, okay woods is hot, let's face it. He is sex on legs and he becomes a very sweet man like I remembered with Blaire. But...I just didn't feel it... I didn't get the connection between theses two.

Tripp...now he was the one I want a book on, I loved him to pieces!

Grant...What? More info needed, like now Abbi!!

The Last few chapters I was gripped but before that this wasn't a book where I HAD to read it.

The ending was like.....what??

Need book two, even if I don't like the couple too much I need to know what happens, you got me good abbi!


Wednesday, 1 May 2013

Stolen - Lucy Christopher



Rating - 5 out of 5
Cover rating - 2.5 out of 5


 Synopsis

It happened like this. I was stolen from an airport. Taken from everything I knew, everything I was used to. Taken to sand and heat, dirt and danger. And he expected me to love him. This is my story. A letter from nowhere. Sixteen year old Gemma is kidnapped from Bangkok airport and taken to the Australian Outback. This wild and desolate landscape becomes almost a character in the book, so vividly is it described. Ty, her captor, is no stereotype. He is young, fit and completely gorgeous. This new life in the wilderness has been years in the planning. He loves only her, wants only her. Under the hot glare of the Australian sun, cut off from the world outside, can the force of his love make Gemma love him back? The story takes the form of a letter, written by Gemma to Ty, reflecting on those strange and disturbing months in the outback. Months when the lines between love and obsession, and love and dependency, blur until they don't exist - almost.

  Review

Amazing. Wonderful. Beautifully written. I could not put this book down. This book will put anyone on an emotional ride. I think the narrative was amazing. If it had been written in any other way I don’t think it would've been as good. The idea of writing a letter to your kidnapper is an interesting one, but this one puts the reader in the shoes of the kidnapper, with Gemma talking to the reader as if we were her kidnapper. The details of the setting really put you in that place. It seems like such a beautiful place. I think the whole book was beautiful! I can’t even put how wonderful this book is into words. I think the best part of the book was that when Gemma’s feelings of Ty changes, my feelings for Ty changed as well. In the beginning, you just think that he’s such a horrible monsetr, but as you get to know Ty you see that he isn’t this horrible person and you might even start to like him. I personally feel like I would fall in love with Ty. “It’s hard to hate someone once you understand them. I felt so mixed up” I think this book review is definitely the hardest I've done so far. Its just been an emotional roller coaster. I think that this is one of my all time.


Overall I give this book 5 out of 5 Cupcakes.